Thank You to some special people (30 days to be Thankful, day 23)

Dear Katie, Erin, Fyr, and Josh-

The four of you got me through some rough times. You were supportive when I needed you most, and I miss you in my life. Thank you for being my friend. I feel like I need to thank you and also apologize to you, which is how the four of you ended up in a letter together.

Katie- Thank you first of all for sitting Bobby and I down and pointing out that we had crushes on each other. I’d like to think we would have gotten together on our own, but you certainly sped that process up! Thank you for taking initiative.
You were my best friend during a very weird time in my life, but you were a steadfast friend who really helped shape me into the person I am today. I miss having you around and I miss talking to you. I know that I was a stupid teenager who handled some things poorly, pulling away when I should have been strengthening bonds. I am so sorry. You helped me become a better person, and I will always be grateful to you.
Thank you for all the long walks, all of the sharing of dreams and ideas. Thank you for exposing me to new ideas and religions, and for encouraging me to question. Thank you for being my friend.

Erin- Jr High is hell. I really wasn’t sure how I was going to make it through when I met you. You helped me embrace my geek self and survive during a scary and rough time. The fact that we managed to stay friends for so long, despite going to different high schools is pretty awesome. Even though we’re not nearly as close as we once were, only keeping in touch via Facebook and the occasional run in, you still always bring a smile to my face. You are awesome, and I need to apologize for not being able to keep you closer. Our lives are so busy and so filled with our family and friends, but I want you to know that I am grateful to have you in my life. Thank you so much for being my friend, even now.

Fyr- Thank you for being yourself. You have always been a bright spot, and hanging out with you has always been and adventure. Thank you so much for all the stories. Thank you for all the times we drove the Geo Metro out to Apache Junction so I could see my boyfriend. Thank you for the off-roading, for the crazy times on Mill, for the hair dye and the randomness. Thank you for late nights spent gaming, and hours upon hours of Monkey Ball (and other games). You and I have had our ups and downs and up and downs and ups and downs. I love you like a sister, I always will, even when we’re on the outs. I’m sorry that you and I often get frustrated with one another. I’m sorry that we can’t be as close as we used to be, because I really do miss you. You are such an amazing person, and I know my life is richer for having you in it. LAT.

Josh- My freshman year of college was rather difficult, but you made it so much easier and so much more fun. Thank you for driving me around when I needed it. Thank you so much for going to watch movies and for people watching with me. I felt like we could talk about anything. I feel like I’ve apologized for all the things that caused us to drift apart. I miss you dude. Thank you for the years where we were friends, you enriched my life.

I want all of you to know that I think of you and smile. That I miss you having you in my life in a more integral way, and that I’d love to see you and catch up sometime.

with love,
Jen

Leave a Reply

