Thank You Bud, Wanda, and the Willis Clan! (30 days to be Thankful, day 19)

Dear Bud, Wanda, and the other Willis I once knew-

I don’t actually know where you guys are now, or what happened to you. I don’t even know how you became part of our family. What I do know is that for a time, I had an extra set of Grandparents, and it was awesome. I’m thankful for all the times we got to hang out, and I’m thankful for the way your grandchildren became pseudo-cousins.

I’m thankful to Bud and Wanda for feeding my family’s rock habit, and for inviting us up to see them. I’m thankful for the little gift shop they used to run outside the Petrified Forest, and I’m thankful for the family vacation when we went to visit.

Most of my favorite “Winter” and “Snow” memories are around the Willis family. We’d go up to Snowflake or Showlow and spend time with all of the kids. Ben, Clint and I would play in the snow, go sledding, build snowmen, and run around like monkeys. I’m thankful for all the times I got to spend hanging out with them. I’m thankful for hot chocolate and toes slowly warming up near a heater.

I’m thankful for Ben Willis, as my childhood “boyfriend” who was always so much fun to hang out with, and was always so generous. I still have this amazing wooden stool that he made me in shop class, and I still adore it. I’m thankful for all the time we spent together. Ben is an awesome Dude.

I wish I had a way to contact them and find out what happened to everyone. I’m so thankful for the time we had together growing up. Thank you for enriching my youth. Thank you for teaching me to share.

Forever in my memories,
Jen

Bud at the rock shop:

 bud at petrfied forest

Leave a Reply

