Thank You Mom! (30 days to be Thankful, day 12)

Dear Mom-

Thank you for all that you did when I was younger. I know that now days we don’t really get along, haven’t spoken in over a year, but I know that I was lucky to have you as a mother. I really want to take the time to thank you for some stand out things that have stuck with me my whole life.

Thank you for your love of bursting into song at random moments. I’m not sure if it’s genetic or learned, but it’s something I catch myself doing, something that often brightens my days.

Thank you for all the trips we took, for sitting with our stuff while Dad and I rode roller coasters and for taking us out on hikes other adventures. Thank you for all the time I got to spend in the pool, at Sunsplash, and generally having fun. Thank you for driving me to the library, where I made life long friends.

Thank you for the food, especially for French Silk Chocolate Cream Pie. I make it every Thanksgiving, and we love it so much. I have an email entitled “Recipes stolen from Mom,” which contains an entire pile of my childhood favorites that you used to make. And thank you for the help when I first moved out, the money on my food card at college, the place to do laundry, the gifts.

Thank you for letting me grow up. I appreciated that you trusted me to do so and gave me the time and space to do that. Thank you for the way you handled the Sex talk, and for ensuring that I got on birth control when the time was right.

Thank you for all the hugs, for letting us grow up in a household where it was okay to say “I love you.” My childhood was mostly happy, I grew up safe and loved. I know there is more to be thankful for, more that you did, but I hope I hit a few highlights.

Love ya, even though.

jen

 

Camping with Mom

Leave a Reply

