Thank you Uncle Jack! (30 days to be Thankful, day 7)

Dear Uncle Jack-

You’ve been a solid presences in my life for as long as I can remember. I appreciate the way you’ve always managed to be there, no matter where “there” happened to be. Maybe especially when there happened to be my first solo experience flying and attempting to change airports on my way to space camp. Thank you for all the trips you’ve made to see me, and for all my trips you’ve help to facilitate. Thank you for our wedding present, all those years ago, Hawaii was amazing, and you are the one who helped us actually get there.

When my dad died, it was heartbreaking for everyone. You’ve never tried to replace him, yet managed to be a steady presence who helps to fill the void that dad left behind. You’re willing to step up and help if you can, to be that extra support network that I lost when I lost my Dad. The way you’ve stepped up to help with the boys college plans has been amazing, above and beyond. I cannot say thank you enough. Thank you for caring about our futures, about your nephews futures.

Thank you for watching out for my little brother, for helping him when I was in Oregon, and for helping make sure he’s doing okay. Thank you for going out to lunch with us, for wanting to spend time with us and with our children, showing up for holidays and birthday parties. Thank you for stepping up and playing Great Uncle for my kids, for being interested in their lives, and for loving them. They are so lucky to have you.

We love you Uncle Jack. Thank you for being in our lives!

with gratitude-
your favorite niece

 

jack

Leave a Reply

