Thank You Bobby (30 days to be Thankful, day 1)

Dear Bobby,

I wanted to thank you for so many things, because you do so much for me, for our family. There is something specific I want to thank you for today though, something I don’t think I’ve ever said thank you for.

Thank you for encouraging me to go to the business college. I remember calling you from a payphone on ASU campus to talk to you about it. I remember standing in the courtyard and explaining all the reasons why I thought I should major in sociology or religious studies or something more “fun.” And the two of us hashing it out, talking about all the different paths my life could take me down. In the end, I took your advice. I went to the college of business, changed my major.

I’ve got a great job. A pretty cool career. I make enough money that I could support our family by myself if the need arose. I’m so lucky. And a lot of the reason I have that is because of you. Because you were there for me at that point in my life, and walked me through the options, supported my choices, and helped me pick the best path.

Thank you for supporting my choices, for supporting me. I’ve told you so many times how lucky I am to have you, and how grateful and thankful I am that you are in my life. But today, I wanted to thank you for my career. Because while I know I did this for me, and I have a career for me, built by me, I also know I wouldn’t be here if it wasn’t for you.

Thank you.

Leave a Reply

