Ollie’s birthday and recovery

Things here have been crazy. Oliver’s recovery is rather stressful.
I’m going to try and recap the past week, so this entry maybe long. Before I start, I’ll summarize. Oliver went home as planned, was extra fussy and stress, work was crazy, Oliver did not enjoy his birthday or his party, and Bobby had an emergency root canal.
The longer version is that we spent a rough night in the hospital Monday. Ollie was getting meds every 4 hours, which meant he had to be woken every four hours, because they were giving the meds orally even though he had a perfectly good IV in. This meant that I was also being woken every 4 hours. I had forgotten how uncomfortable the beds are, and how hard it is to sleep there. Oliver kept kicking off his O2 monitor, which was the one thing they were concerned with, given his history of breathing issues. Basically this meant that we had to wait for him to fall asleep to put it on. So I had to wait until he fell asleep, then call a nurse, then hope the nurse didn’t wake him, and only then was I able to go back to bed. Not fun.
Tuesday the doctor stopped by around 8:30 to check on us, Ollie was sitting up, happy, and eating breakfast. The doctor checked him out, and cleared us to go home.
IMAG1409
We got home and Ollie was mostly good. Every 4 hours he needed Tylenol with Codeine, and he was very much wanting to veg out, and fussy, but doing okay.
Bobby came home from work on Tuesday in extreme amounts of pain in his tooth, where he had a temporary crown put on the week before. I talked him into calling the dentist, who got him an appointment for Weds morning. Bobby was grumpy and in a lot of pain, turned out he needed a root canal in the tooth they’d worked on. Somehow they’d gotten too close to the nerve and agitated it. The nerve wouldn’t numb, and it was pretty painful to get done. My poor hubby.
In the meantime, Ollie’s still doing okay other than when it’s time to medicate. He hates getting the meds, and I have to pin him down and force it with a syringe to get him to take it. If I don’t give him the meds, he cries, and won’t eat or drink.
Thursday rolls around, and rather than being better, Oliver is worse. He’s drooling constantly, and he won’t drink even on the Codeine. Also, his breath stinks so bad (this is normal). I call the doctor, and they tell me that “Some kids are worse day 5-7, when the scabs start coming off.” Gee, thanks. So for Ollie’s birthday, I’ve made him in intense pain. He’s very grumpy, very sad, and keeps crying, even on the codeine. Yes, he’s got periods of happy or at least not sad, but it’s like 20% of his awake time he’s okay, and the rest he’s not okay. In the meantime, I’m working from home, prepping his party, and taking care of him. Bobby’s behind at work from taking Weds off, so he’s pretty swamped as well.
Oliver enjoyed us singing to him on his birthday
ollie 2nd bday-11
But he didn’t eat any of his cake. His general reaction to his presents was, “Hey, brightly colored boxes? Okay, whatever.”
ollie 2nd bday-6
But he seemed to like a few of his gifts. For his birthday party we went to the park on Saturday and met up with friends. We did a “cupcake bar” for the kids, where we let the kids decorate their own cupcakes. Read that as us not having to frost cupcakes for everyone.
ollie bday-9
Oliver enjoyed us singing to him less at the park. It was a bit cold out, around 68 degrees, which for us in AZ is jacket weather.
ollie bday-7
Oliver spent some time on the swings, and went home from his own party early to lay around and watch TV. Basically, other than the birthday boy himself, the party was a success, and a lot of fun. Given that the point is supposed to be to make the birthday boy happy, I’d say it was mostly a failure. Landon had a blast though. And the food was good. And the company too.
Given Ollie’s pain levels, general bad mood, and reaction to the presents he’d gotten the day before, I opted to take the gifts home and let him open them as he saw fit. He seemed to enjoy himself with the paper tearing part.
ollie bday-23
Yesterday (Sunday) he was still pretty bad, and still on Codeine most of the day. Grandma and Grandpa came buy and gave him a cute little house and sandbox, but he hasn’t been up to trying them out yet.
This morning he finally woke up and seemed to be better. His breath is better, less drool, he’s still not drinking as much as I would like. I’m hoping to send him to school tomorrow. (Initially I was told most kids can go back after 5 days, obviously, this was not true for Oliver.) Of course, I wrote that, and he woke up from nap in a terrible mood, and I ended up giving him codeine again. He tends to do best from about 20 minutes after he wakes until naptime. After nap seems rough for some reason.
So, in the one week since the surgery, here’s what has changed. His breathing is MUCH quieter. I used to walk by his room and peek in to check on him, and I could easily hear him breathing from the doorway. Now I can’t hear him at all, and have to go check to watch him breathe. Major change on that front. As far as his hearing and speech, I think he’s a little clearer. I’ve had him point to my nose and say “Nose” which is new. Also, he’s become obsessed with Wow Wow Wubbzy. So of course he now says “Wow Wow Wow!” I think he just said something similar to Banana to me, repeating it back to me when I asked him if he wanted one.
Also, his dinosaur is his new best friend. He likes to take it everywhere.
ollie bday-29
I’m thinking I’ll take him to school tomorrow and see where he is after nap. I’ll probably have to go and pick him up after nap, but that’s okay, I can do that.

Leave a Reply

