40 days of Thanksgiving Day one: Oliver

I suspect I’m going to fail at doing this every day.

I’ve seen this meme going around, and I think it’s a pretty good idea. There are exactly forty days until (American) Thanksgiving (including today and the day of). So the concept is to post one thing you are thankful for each day.

I’m going to start off Day one with Ollie.

I am thankful for my Oliver. He’s had so many issues, and we came SO CLOSE to losing him. I don’t like to think about how close. He’s such an amazing little boy. He has the best smile, I can’t tell you how happy it makes me to see him smile. Last night I took the boys to the park, and Ollie was just thrilled to be there. He loved the swings, the slide. He was happy to play, and did not throw a fit when it was time to go home.

Also, he did something he rarely does, something I can’t really remember him doing for me. He asked me to pick him up. Not with words, mind you. But normally he never wants to be picked up, or, on the rare occasion he thinks it might be a good idea, he demonstrates this by throwing himself to the ground, or sometimes just sitting down and not going. Instead, on the way home, he took my hand and reached up with his other hand. And was rather happy to be picked up.

My Oliver is taking up a lot of my time and energy right now, but he is worth it. I love him so much and I’m so thankful to have him.

20111016_park&Lizards (9)

