Landon’s allergy

Landon had his annual appointment with his allergist. His numbers continue to slowly climb. It’s frustrating because there is nothing further we can do other than what we are already doing. He said that, medically speaking, this is basically the same result as last year, and he seemed to think this was a good thing. He felt Landon still has a slight chance of outgrowing the milk allergy by the time he’s 12, but not a great chance. We went ahead, with Landon starting Kindergarten, and got an Emergency Plan and a prescription for an Epi-pen.

I really didn’t think it would hurt so much to get this news. I thought this was what I was expecting. “Slightly worse, here is a just in case Epi pen.” But when they told me, I wanted to cry. I’ve been sort of melancholy and depressed ever since the appointment. I’m grateful that Landon doesn’t seem to have any other major issues. I’m grateful my kids are healthy. But sometimes this food allergy thing just really upsets me.

Overall, Landon is happy and healthy and enjoying playing hooky from school today. He is 42.5 inches tall and weighs 42.5 lbs. They commented that he’s rather square!

Here are Landon’s numbers, for my reference:
Test on:
2/16/2011: 25.9 kU/L Class 4 Ige 222 Iu/ML
2/12/2010: 24.60 kU/L Class 4 Ige 150 Iu/ML
2/25/09 19.10 class 4H IgE 155H
Test in Feb 08 was 12.57
Test in Feb 07 was 7.98

This past weekend was fun. We ended up watch Laura’s kids for the weekend. Laura’s kids are spaced in such a way that they really could be “our kids” in some alternate reality. I’m saying its physically possible that Bobby and I could have been parents to the whole batch of children we watched. Laura’s girls are 10 and 11. Her son is six. It was pretty neat to see what life was like with five kids. Some of it was harder, some it was easier. It was totally more expensive, but that is partly because we took them out to eat and shopping and generally spoiled them and sugared them up. In the end, I’m glad we have two kids and not five kids, even though we had a really fun time with them.

Leave a Reply

