Cooking, the best, easy French Onion Soup.

I’ve never been great at cooking or baking. Once it turned out that anything the whole family wants to eat had to be gluten and dairy free, my baking skills pretty much tanked. I mean, I make tasty Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies, and I love Alton Brown’s Peanut Butter Fudge Recipe, but I’ve pretty much topped out on desserts at that point. And my mom’s French Silk Chocolate Cream Pie is awesome, but making it dairy free is pretty hard.

When it comes to making dinner, I’ve got a pretty limited repertoire of dishes that I’m comfortable throwing together. I don’t really enjoy cooking or baking, but I understand that it needs to be done. Given that I work from home on Weds, I usually attempt to toss dinner in the crock pot sometime in the morning, so when Bobby gets home we can eat together. I prefer “chop and dump” recipes, where I don’t have to do a lot of work other than just toss things in the crock, and then, many hours later, serve it up. This has lead to me exploring some of the crock pot recipes over at http://crockpot365.blogspot.com/

Bobby requested French Onion Soup for dinner the other night, and I found myself making French Onion Soup CrockPot style. Can I tell you something? This was SO EASY and SO GOOD. I followed the recipe as written, up until the end. We spooned up the soup into bowls and floated our toast on top along with some Dubliner cheese and some Mozzarella Cheese. If you are feeding more than three people, I think doubling the recipe might be a good idea.

I’m so glad that Bobby is so good in the kitchen, because normally I’m not. It is so wonderful to have someone in the house who enjoys cooking and makes such wonderful, tasty food. It’s not often I add a new recipe to my list of things I like to make, but I think this soup just got added to my list!

french onion soup

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. rapunxelle
    Feb 03, 2011 @ 13:35:41

    This looks really fun and easy. I’m excited to try it. What’s bizarre to me is that I can’t really remember having French Onion soup. New Culinary Adventure! Yay!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

