Prioritize

Ugh. I’ve got so much to do and so little time.

I’ve got my being a mom, my kids are my world. Spending time with them is very important to me. I also have my actual paying full time job. Right there, that’s almost all of my time. Let’s add to that being a wife to my amazing husband, spending time with him and keeping our marriage as a focal point in our lives. Also, doing any housework and all the chores that need to be done to keep life going and the house from looking like a trash heap. After that, I’ve got the whole writing thing. I feel totally behind on that. I want to get back into writing for the examiner twice a week and doing at least one demand studios a week, but the time seems to escape me. Beyond that, I REALLY want to get the photography business off the ground. I’d like to take a couple of classes, get the business up and running. I’m working on starting a portfolio for real now, and it’s a lot of work. Not to mention filing the paperwork to be a business and getting all of that in line. I need a website, a logo, cards, all of that. I’m sending in the paperwork this week to officially open “Jen Mayer Photography LLC.” From there, it’s just so much work! I’m excited, but out of time.

Add to that, I’ve suddenly got a novel rolling around in my head. I put an outline together for it today. I have this happen from time to time, but I never end up finishing the novel. I can see the whole story in my head; I’ve done the background work, set up the world, all that good stuff.

I’m feeling a little overwhelmed with everything I want to get done. Not to mention all the Christmas stuff I’ve got going on, the games, the television I want to watch, the books I want to read, the things I want to take the kids and go and do, the family and wonderful friends I want to spend time with, the workouts with running that I’d like to go and do, the blogs and websites I want to keep up on. We’ve got Zoolights tickets and I want to take the kids, but I’m not sure when I’ll have time! Not to mention I’d love to take Landon roller skating, he’s never been.

My writing and photo business is becoming more important to me. I want to do these things as a career, not just a side project, but I can’t do that until a bunch of conditions are met. Some of the conditions I can control, some I cannot. I want to have a large portfolio and paying clients before I consider quitting my job. I’d like to be pulling in at least $100 a month from writing and $600 a month from photography before I consider quitting my actual, real, job. Bobby would need to have a permanent job with pay equal or above what he is making now, and that job would need to be able to provide health insurance for our family. I also have some other things I need to do before I think I can get the business off the ground, including a photography class and a Photoshop class. And I need to actually buy Photoshop. That would really be helpful.

I need to prioritize and focus and I know I have to pay attention to my schedule in order to accomplish everything on my list. But I’d like to take a nap.

Leave a Reply

