Looking forward, professionally speaking

I’m in planning mode. My brain is attempting to plan out the next year.

Work is finally starting to pick up. I’m hoping to be up and running and not needing any hand holding or training on basic things soon. I like my job, but I’m a bit nervous. In six months when Bobby transitions to hopefully perm at his current job, that he will get health benefits. Currently he is covered under my work’s plan, so it’s not a big deal. But if we had insurance through Bobby, I think I could make money as a paid online writer and as a wedding/portrait photographer. As in, I think I might be able to make enough to justify me not having an official “day job.” Would that be a good thing or a bad thing? If I ran my own photography business? And did the writing/blogging for pay as well? I haven’t written anything for Examiner in a while, and I want to start writing for them again. I enjoy it, but I lack a good editor. I make stupid mistakes, and then post them, which makes me sad. Beyond Examiner.com, I make decent money when I write for Demand Studios. Depending on how good of a photographer I became and the way I ran that business, I could possibly make about what I am making now. I’d have a more flexible schedule. I could be home when the kids got home, run them to school in the mornings, not have to stress about the days they are off from school.

I don’t want to be a SAHM. But could I be a WAHM? Could I run my own business? Would that drive me crazy? Or be a wonderful change of pace? I need to ease into it, either way. I also need to spend more time with my camera and sharpen my skills. There are a lot of improvements I need to make to do this.

Speaking of, I’m thinking of just calling it Mayer Photography. What do you think?

Leave a Reply

