Jen the Photographer

A few months ago, I was asked to be a photographer at a wedding. I expressed to the bride that I wasn’t really comfortable with that, as I honestly am not a professional, and I don’t know a lot of tricks with the camera or anything. I keep meaning to take a class or spend more time figuring out how to use the camera, but I haven’t had time.

A week later, she told me they hired someone, but she still wanted me to take some pictures, which was cool.

So we went to the wedding yesterday. It was beautiful. About ten minutes before the ceremony started, I asked my friend Crystal, who was officiating, where the photographer was. Crystal said she hadn’t met her yet, so we went to ask some of the relatives. After a few minutes, someone called the photographer, who told them that she was running late, and would be there in three hours. The wedding started in five minutes.

So, guess who did most of the photos for the wedding spur the moment with no prep what so ever? If I’d known I’d have brought the tripod, spent more time studying the camera ahead of time, and at least made a list of what shots to get in advance. Also, I’d have had someone else watch the kids, and Bobby and I would have BOTH been taking pictures, so that we could have covered the whole wedding.

The lighting was hard to work with, because the sun was directly overhead and all the photos were done in the shade so no one died of heat stroke. It was 90 degrees outside. We had the kids with us too. I had (thankfully) brought both camera’s with me, so we had plenty of “film.” Overall, I think it turned out okay. There were some pictures that did not turn out, and some I was not happy with at all, but I think it worked out in the end.

I’ve posted about 20% of the photos online in a set on Flickr.

It was a lot of work, and I really want to take the time to get better at this, because I do enjoy it, and I think it might be something fun to do on the side. This is the second wedding I’ve been the primary photographer at.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Crystal
    Oct 17, 2010 @ 14:57:26

    you have an eye for some good shots. Mainly you captured candids that showed their personality- a hard trick. And you’d been to enough weddings to know what shots they would need for their album. Good work!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

