Alpha Blog Tour: Special interview with author Rachel Vincent

The werecat series by Rachel Vincent is one of my favorite book series. The final book in this series, Alpha is due out October 1, 2010. In order to help promote the book, Rachel has agreed to let me interview her!

I think that Rachel does an excellent job of world building and that her characters are engaging. I love how much the main character, Faythe, has grown and changed over the series. The books are fast paced and hard to put down! I highly recommend picking up the series and reading them all!

Alpha

YOU’VE GOT TO HAVE FAYTHE…
The unscrupulous new Council chair has charged Jace, Marc, and me with trespassing, kidnapping, murder, and treason. Yeah, we’ve been busy. But now it’s time to take justice into our own hands. We must avenge my brother’s death and carve out the rot at the heart of the Council.
It’s not going to be easy, and loss seems unavoidable, but I have promised to protect my Pride, no matter what. With a target on my back and Marc at my side, I’m heading for a final showdown that can—that will—change everything forever.

Alpha Blog Tou Buttonr

Interview with Rachel Vincent

Q. As this series is ending, have you thought about writing any sequels starring different characters, such as Kaci’s coming of age, or Faythe’s children?

A. I haven’t given that any serious thought, no. I did write a short story from Abby’s perspective, and it comes out next year, in an anthology from Tor, but at this point, while I make a point never to say never, I’m not really thinking about sequels or spinoffs.

Q. Who is your main inspiration for Marc, Faythe, and Jace?

A. None of my characters are inspired by anyone real. Though they all have characteristics and habits I’ve observed in real life, they are all completely fictional, head to toe.

Q. At what point did you realize how Faythe’s story was going to end, and how did that impact your writing?
A. I’ve had a general idea of how it would end (the final battle for independence and leadership) since I wrote Rogue. The series has been leading up to this for a long time. 😉

Q. What is the best and worst part about ending such a successful series?

A. The best part is definitely seeing and hearing all the excitement for the final volume. That’s been awesome! The worst part is this feeling of withdrawal. This kind of sinking feeling I get every time I realize all over again that I won’t be writing anymore werecat books. It’s like saying a permanent goodbye to friends I’ve known all my life.

Q. If you were casting the movie version of Stray, what actor do you see playing Marc, Jace, and Faythe?

A. I don’t have good casting ideas for Marc or Jace, though readers usually have their own preferences. I could see Faythe played by Megan Fox, but with every year that passes, she tends to outgrow the role. So if it ever is made into a movie, I kind of hope they cast relatively unknown actors, who will become the characters, rather than reminding people of their previous roles. 😉

Q. At the start of the very first book, Faythe is a grad student. What made Faythe want to be a Lit Major?
A. Faythe is an English major because I was an English major. That’s my way of writing what I know (as the old advice goes), and it’s one of the few things Faythe and I have in common. 😉

And here is your Alpha Bite:

“So, how old were you when you decided to persue professional ass-wipe status?” -from Alpha, pg 139

Read more book reviews at The Hench Reads

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cathy M
    Sep 24, 2010 @ 12:25:16

    Love this series and can’t wait for Alpha. Missed the teaser from the book.

    Reply

  2. Viki S.
    Sep 24, 2010 @ 13:38:28

    I won’t say who said the quote since I read ALPHA already and that wouldn’t be fair.
    Great interview. ALPHA is one of the best reads I’ve ever had.

    Reply

  3. Jess (The Cozy Reader)
    Sep 25, 2010 @ 14:23:19

    Great interview!

    She stopped by my blog today to discuss love triangles and I’ve hosting an International giveaway too!

    Stop by!

    Reply

  4. Pamk
    Sep 26, 2010 @ 19:03:26

    love that teaser lol

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Alpha blog tour and giveaway! [updated]

Leave a Reply

