10 years of married bliss

Beloved Bobby-

When I first saw you, around 17 years ago, there was no lightning from the sky, no dramatic music, no sign that something life changing and profound had just occurred. In all honesty, I thought you had gross hair. It’s not your fault, I mean, you had just finished gym class. I realize only now, that means the first time you saw me was after dance class, which means I was wearing a very unflattering leotard. Who would have though, having laid eyes on each other at such a moment, that we would be here now?

The first thing you ever gave me was a drawing you did in art class. It hangs on the wall of our bedroom, and it’s one of my most precious things.
IMAG0496

It was the spring of our sophomore year when suddenly everything changed for me. I still have the mental image in my head, of you and your sexy walk, out in the field. I still remember thinking to myself, “Holy crap, is that Bobby? When did he get to be so sexy?”

It was 15 years ago today, the start of our Junior year of high school, when we were set down by mutual friends, and told, “Look, stop being stupid, you have a crush on her, she has a crush on you. Now do something about it!” This was followed by our first date, which involved Peter Piper Pizza. Five years later, on this date, we were married.
Today, we’ve been married for 10 years, and together for 15. We’ve known each other for 17 years. That is more than half our lives.

I cannot imagine a life without you. You have always been there for me. You’ve always been amazing, and so much more than I ever expected. You continue to surprise me with little things you do. You always manage to find a way to take care of people, especially your family. You are a marvelous father to our boys. I can talk to you about anything, and know you will listen and try to understand. You are always willing to work with me, to help me, to let me do what I want to do. You have supported me throughout my entire adult life. Together we have created a fantastic family, fulfilled so many of our dreams, had so many fun adventures, shared so many moments.

I hear a lot of couples talking about how they grew apart. I think that you and I grew together. We were young teens when we met, and here we are, adults! Man, if I’d had any idea back then what an astounding chef you would become, I would have married you sooner! You really do have an amazing talent in the kitchen, something I never suspected would become as awesome as it.

You also happen to be super sexy, both inside and out. You hair has improved so much over the years! (I love the current shaved look.) Your eyes are deeper and bluer than ever before, and you’ve got a wonderfully strong body, not to mention an amazingly sharp mind. You have a way about you, a compassion, a strange sense of humor, a unique way of looking at the world. All of these things make you even more sexy to me.

I love you more than words can ever express. I am truly blessed to have you in my life, to have you as my life partner.
Thank you for everything. I will always love you. I always want to be with you, support you, care for you, and to be in your life as your partner.

Happy 10th wedding anniversary! I’m looking forward to celebrating many more years together in our future!

Love always,
Jen

Leave a Reply

