Books day 29: The Dark Tower

30 day Book Meme

Day 29 – Saddest character death

I don’t like character death. I prefer not to read books with a lot of character death in them. I much prefer happy endings to sad ones. Despite this, I can think of a lot of books where the death of a character has made me cry. For the sake of this, I’m going to use one of the deaths in a series I was surprised to enjoy. Be warned, the rest of this post contains spoilers for The Dark Tower by Stephen King.

The Dark Tower books are outside of my normal reading. I don’t like horror. Stephen King is able to make my sick to my stomach and highly uncomfortable with his detailed descriptions of unpleasant things. I really loved these books though.

SPOILERS BELOW

There were three times that I cried for a character death throughout the series. The first was when Jake died. The second was when Eddie died, and the third was when Jake died again.

I was very wrapped up in their world, and was stunned, despite knowing it was a King novel, and therefore had the nature of death spun into it, when I read of Eddie dying. I did not expect for a member of the Ka-tet to die at that time, or in that way. And I have a moratorium on books where children died. I actively avoid books where this occurs in most cases. To have them kill Jake, not once, not twice, but three times in the book, broke my heart.

Despite all this, I did enjoy the series. I would recommend them to others.

Leave a Reply

