Books day 28: The Dark is Rising

30 day Book Meme
Day 28 – First favorite book or series obsession

The first series I remember being obsessed with was The Dark is Rising Sequence by Susan Cooper.
I totally loved this series as a child. I’m hoping Landon and Ollie will like it too.

I always enjoy reading about how things start, so it was enjoyable to me to read about Will coming into his power. The follow on books were excellent as well, and I loved how Will was portrayed, with his young/oldness all in one boy.

Also, I had a mad crush on the character when I was reading the books in elementary school I think it was the first fictional character I remember having a crush on.

At my elementary school they had this contest, where whoever read the most books in the year, the top five or so, would get the library copy of one book of their choice “dedicated to them.” It was just a piece of paper glued to the front inside cover of the book, saying that Firstname Lastname had read XX books in the year XXXX and that this book was their favorite. After much debate, I chose The Grey King. It was so hard to pick my favorite of the series.

I used to be able to recite the poems at the front of the book from memory, “When the Dark comes rising, six shall turn it back.”

We’re going to pretend no one ever attempted to make this into a movie. That was some terrible movie. I couldn’t even make it to the end.

Leave a Reply

