Books day 23: More Anita Blake

30 day Book Meme
Day 23 – Most annoying character ever
I just keep going back to the Anita Blake books by Laurell K. Hamilton. I think it’s because the series used to be so good, and it’s gotten so bad.
I dislike the character of Damien. I never liked him to start with, and he’s such a background character for having such a large role in Anita’s power play. Every time he comes up I just have to roll my eyes.
Also, from the same series, there is Richard. I love him sometime, and sometimes he is so stupid and so wrapped up in his own things that I just want to thwack him!
And Asher is just like Richard, only worse.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jaime
    Aug 14, 2010 @ 11:13:57

    Richard was actually always my favorite. She butchered the character because from what I’ve read he was the avatar for her ex-husband…you see Richard really starts acting crazy and holy hell what is wrong with you around the same time she stopped dedicating the books to him.

    But yes, recent Anita is probably the most annoying character ever.

    Reply

  2. Jaime
    Aug 14, 2010 @ 17:13:04

    Yep, I think that’s about the time she either got divorced or started having marital problems. And I totally misread and thought you were calling Anita annoying, not just Damien and Richard. Micah kinda always annoyed the hell out of me, no idea why.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

