Books day 10: Stiff, A Short History of nearly Everything

30 day Book Meme
Day 10 – A book you thought you wouldn’t like but ended up loving
It’s all Bobby’s fault. Seriously.
Bobby reads weird things, or perhaps I should say he listens to weird things. We share an Audible account, which means I have access to the books he listens too. He highly recommended some books to me, books I fully expected to dislike, that I ended up loving, This is not limited too but includes a quite few books, and basically an entire new genre for me. The top two are the two that I am going to tell mention for this meme.

A Short History of Nearly Everything By Bill Bryson sounded like a stuff history book. I did not see how this could be something I would want to read for my own fun and enjoyment. I went ahead and attempted it, only to have discovered not only an interesting book, but a brand new author who I now love. Bill Bryson makes science and history fun, and his writing is witty and entertaining.

However, that was not the oddest thing, or even the thing I most expected to dislike, that I have read and loved. Bobby read Stiff: The Curious Lives of Human Cadavers By Mary Roach and highly recommended it as well. A book about dead bodies? Really? Yet this turned into one of those life changing books, while managing to be interesting without completely grossing me out. The book talks a lot about what happens to bodies after death, where bodies go, the process, and how useful bodies donated to science are. Before reading this book, I didn’t really care about what happened to my body once I died. I mean, I wouldn’t need it anymore, so who cares? I’ve always been listed as an organ donor, but I never was too concerned about anything else.

Now I feel that organ donation, followed by donating your body to science, is the absolute best thing you can do with your remains, and a positive thing that comes out of death. I admit it’s a scary thought. The book mentions that the things they are always short on are children’s corpses to learn on and use to make things safer for living children. I had to consider this fact when it looked like Ollie might not make it. It would have been hard to do, but I know it would have been the best and most important thing that Ollie could have done, if he had given up the fight. I hope I never have to make the choice for anyone else, but please, for me and mine, don’t put us in the ground to rot and waste, let us be useful in our passing. Donate to science.

Leave a Reply

