Books Day 6: Catspaw

30 day Book Meme
Day 06 – Favorite book of your favorite series OR your favorite book of all time
My favorite book of all time is Catspaw By Joan D. Vinge. Part of that is circumstantial, I think. I picked it up to read in the seventh grade, over Christmas vacation. The book was thick! But the cover had caught my eye.

What I didn’t realize is that this is book two. The first book, Psion, I had not read, or even heard of. I remember sitting on my bed in my room, reading it for the first time. I remember getting confused and talking out the mechanics of the books with my Christian Slater poster, because I needed to talk it through out loud. I remember figuring out the book and the mechanics and everything, and I remember being so proud when I finished the book, and that the whole book made sense to me.
I love the main character, Cat. He is, against all odds, a good person. He’s a half human, and half alien. He has green Cat eyes instead of human looking eyes, and he is a very powerful telepath as well. He is always in a bad situation, and I swear, he always gets the short end of the stick. And despite all of this, he does the right thing, over and over again. The story is good science fiction, and my username actually comes in part from this book. The Symb in the book is a critical piece of the plot, after all.
But the other thing about this book is that the feelings that Cat has, and the way he experiences them, translates so well, where you find yourself having empathy with Cat. The plot of the book also has intrigue and mystery, which hooks you and keeps you reading.
Psion is also a great book, and I’ll highlight it later on in the meme. Dreamfall, the last book in the series, was not as good to me. Part of that, I think, is because I really feel that Cat deserves a happy ending, which he still has not gotten. I highly recommend Catspaw!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Books day 14: Elena of Bitten « The Chronicles of a Henchwoman

Leave a Reply

