Books Day 5: Pride and Prejudice and Zombies

30 day Book Meme

Day 05 – A book or series you hate

I’m not big on the “classics” when it comes to books. I read The Scarlet Letter, Old Man and the Sea, Of Mice and Men, and whatever else was required of me in school, but I just don’t usually pick up the classics. (Okay, I like some of them, like Mark Twain or Shakespere, but overall, just not my bag).

So I was pretty excited when Pride and Prejudice and Zombies. came out.

It seemed like a great way to liven up the book! Now I would actually want to read it! But since I know how I feel about the classics, I decided to download it and listen to it instead of read it. I’ve got a lot higher tolerance for “Bad” when I’m listening to it than when I’m reading it.

The book sucked. I got not quiet half way through it before I realized I could not continue. I almost felt like the zombies were just screwing with the plot overall, not helping to make it more interesting. While the idea seemed innovative, I have to say that in the end I think that it’s a bad idea to go and take classics and just add in more text. I think I greatly prefer re-imaging or retelling of classics that take the materials and update them.

Also, in the end, I feel like Seth Grahame-Smith is just riding in on the coat tails of Jane Austin, mucking things up.

Don’t get me started on the whole Sense and Sensibility and Sea Monsters.

Leave a Reply

