On being a writer

So, I took the job at examiner as a spring board of things to get blogging jobs and to exercise my outlet for writing.

I’ve always wanted to be a writer. It’s not anything I ever expected to do though. I enjoy writing, but it takes time, and as many books as I’ve started writing, I’ve never managed to even get half way through writing a manuscript. And suddenly, I’ve got two writing gigs. Two paid writing gigs.

For the examiner job, it pays not very well. Well, that’s not true, I’ve made over $150, but that because I got $50 for every referral, and I had three referrals. They pay out when you get $25 in earnings. I get $1 an article plus “traffic.” I write 2 articles a week. One “Date Night” and one other article. The only challenge is that I have to make the article “local” and supply my own picture for the article. I enjoy writing the articles even if the pay is crap. I’ve got the freedom to interpret my title of Phoenix Love and Marriage Examiner to encompass pretty much whatever I want it too. My editor hasn’t said a single word to me, I don’t think I’ve ever gotten anything from her except a form letter. I can email her directly with questions, I just don’t. I have posted 15 articles to date. (so that’s $15, plus “traffic”)

I highly recommend examiner.com for anyone who wants to write mostly for the enjoyment of writing. I’d love another $50 referral too, of course. I get to keep my copyright on my articles. I do need to figure out how to do a better job of increasing my traffic, but that’s more about wanting to be successful about this whole, “getting my name out there” thing.

My new writing gig pays well. My first article netted me $15, which paid today. My second article was for $7.50, and it looks like my third article will also be for $7.50. The articles are way more structured. There is no referral bonus. You don’t get to communicate directly with any editor, so it’s difficult to get specific questions answered. You have to site sources for your information, even if it’s something you don’t need any sources to write. There is no traffic bonus. They keep the copyright. Honestly, if it weren’t for the pay, and the fact that the extra income is a blessing right now, I don’t know that I’d still be writing for them. My first article was a pain in the neck, and writing my Bio was worse. However, they loved my second article and referred it back to me with one minor change. If you want to know where to apply, I’ll share the webstie with you all: Demand Studios

Here’s the weird thing though. I’m a professional writer. I am getting paid to write articles that, in theory, other people will read. And that’s pretty cool.

Leave a Reply

