Stamina

I don’t consider myself to be an unhealthy person. But if I’m being honest, I don’t really consider myself to be a healthy person either.

My numbers weren’t bad at last my health check. They weren’t great, but they weren’t bad. But if I’m going to keep up with Landon, Oliver, and Bobby, I’ve got to get some Stamina.

So on June 1st, I went to the gym on campus at work. And I got a treadmill. The goal is twice a week. I’ve been doing interval training. And I’m a little embarrassed to admit it, but I couldn’t do it. I set my sites on 20 minutes, the first minute at 3.5 MPH and the next minute at 4 MPH, alternating the whole way. I wanted to walk for a minute, then run for a minute, and for me, for stationary me, 4MPH is running, although I call it jogging, since it’s so slow.

I could not do it. I would feel faint, I would almost pass out. I’d be in intense pain at the 15 minute mark. I’d give up, and hop onto a stationary bike for 10 minutes to finish out my cardio.

And then I lowered it to 3.2 MPH and 4 MPH. And I couldn’t do it. Not for 20 minutes.
Two weeks ago I did it once. Last week I managed 20 minutes both times.
Today I did it again. Twenty minutes of walking/jogging.

I chose the interval training because I had asthma as a child, and I haven’t had an attack in 15 years or more, but I get panicky when I get short of breath. I can get my breathing under control during my minute of walking.

So, If I want to increase my workouts, what is the best way to do it? I go to the gym as many times a week as my schedule allows, which is 2-3 times a week. I’m adding in a weights, but not a ton of weights. But the goal is to work up to running an actual 5K at some point.
So do I increase my speeds? My walking speed? Or my running speed? Or do I increase the time I run vs walk? (Run for one minute and 10 seconds?)

Baby steps here. I know if I kill myself doing this I’ll just stop doing it. I need to ease into this. But what’s the next baby step?

Leave a Reply

