Drusilla

I suspect, that in the very near future, I will be losing my favorite, well loved cat, Drusilla, the Adversary, Destroyer of Kings, Angel of the Bottomless Pit, Great Beast that is called Dragon, Princess of This World, Mother of Lies, Spawn of Satan, and Lady of Darkness.
Yes, that is her full name.

My Dru cat, she’s a lover. We got her from the pound about 12 years ago. Fyr, Bobby, and I had just moved in together, and we needed a cat. Fyr and I went down to the pound and picked out Dru. She was just a kitten, and she hadn’t been spayed yet, so the pound kept her overnight to spay her and we picked her up the next morning.

They did a terrible job sealing poor tiny Dru kitten up. She carries the oddest scar from that, she has her whole life. I honestly worried that it was going to come open and all her insides would tumble out.

Dru cat Dru cat
2010

Dru’s always been an odd cat. She’s very friendly, and comes when called. She loves shoes with a passion I’ve never seen in a cat before. At night, she will find the smelliest shoe in the whole house, and walk around with it hanging out of her mouth, while she yowls in a very annoying and eerie tone.

She doesn’t like to be picked up, but she does love to come sit on you. She’ll climb on your back if you lay down on the floor, and give you a backrub. She doesn’t have the loudest purr, but it’s a sweet sound, one you have to be cuddled close to her to hear.

She’s never been great at grooming herself. She sheds like you would not think possible. I swear, I can brush enough fur to cover two whole cats from her.

She has very striking green eyes, and she’s colored like a cow. She used to sleep in my bed with me, when we lived in Portland. When I can’t sleep and go sit on the couch to read, she’s right there next to me, waiting to be scratched. And she always seems to know when I’m sad. She’ll come cuddle me if she sees me cry.

I’m not ready to say goodbye. I’ve had her for 12 years, and she moved to Portland with me. She rode in the jeep with Spike, and my Dad, when we drove up. Once she’s gone, I’ll be the only one left who made the journey in the jeep with dad. Dad died in 2001, we sold the Jeep in 2003. Spike left us in 2005. That drive, that time with my dad is one of my best memories. My wonderful inlaws made the trip too, they drove the truck with all our stuff.

When we moved back from Portland to AZ, we loaded Dru up again, and this time she rode with Bobby, but she came back just the same as she left.

Dru’s been there for me through a lot of rough times, and a lot of good times. She’s my cat. And I love her.

And she’s got Chronic Renal Failure. Basically her kidneys are failing. 70% of kidney failure has probably already taken place, as usually you don’t see any external symptoms until the cat has less than 30% usage. The doctor thinks one of her kidneys is completely useless, and that the other is in decline.

There is no cure. We can prolong her life, by giving her SubQ fluids and putting her on a special diet. She might be able to go another 2 or 3 years, best case, that way, feeling mostly like herself. It’ll cost us about $50 a week to maintain her. That’s $2,600 a year, assuming no other medical issues come up.

I’m not ready to say goodbye. I’m not ready. I can’t lose her.

I can’t afford to keep her.

She seems like she’s doing okay right now, but the vet told me that if I don’t start fluids very soon, one day I’ll wake up, and Dru will be very, very ill. She’ll be suffering from her own body being unable to process the toxins that the kidneys usually take care of. And at that point, she’ll be suffering. I don’t want that.

I always knew the time would come. I know that in the life of an animal, at some point, this time tends to come.

She’s only 12. I’m not ready. She’s not acting very sick, it seems just minor symptoms for now.

together again together again
Dru and Landon. 2/10/07

I don’t know what to do. I don’t know where to start. I don’t know how to handle this. Hell, I don’t even know how to explain it to Landon.
I just want my Dru cat to be healthy and whole.

Drusilla, the Adversary, Destroyer of Kings, Angel of the Bottomless Pit, Great Beast that is called Dragon, Princess of This World, Mother of Lies, Spawn of Satan, and Lady of Darkness, my Dru cat. I love you. I am not looking forward to a world without you.

Leave a Reply

