I dreamt of my father last night….

Most of the time, my dreams, no matter how real or clear, are gone by the time I get to this point of the day, however last night’s dream is still with me.
I dreamt of my father. It’s always weird when I do. Often, in the dream, I am unaware that he has been dead for the past 8 years. In the dream, I was here, in this house, a place my father never was. There was someone at my door, and they had keys, like they were letting themselves in. I heard the keys in the door, and so I got up and opened the door. My father was standing there, and I was surprised to see him. He explained that he thought we weren’t awake yet, so that’s why he was letting himself in. We talked about things, and he wanted a glass of milk. I don’t remember most of the dream, but his face at my door, that’s etched in my mind.
It’s weird how the memories come at such odd times. I think part of it is that Ollie does resemble my dad to me, so he’s been on my mind. I will always be sad that he never met his grandchildren, and I will always be grateful that he was there to walk me down the aisle the day I married Bobby.
I love dreaming about my father, it always makes me happy, and in the dreams, I am always happy. But when I wake up, there is always a moment where it occurs to me that I dreamt about my father, and that he is dead. And in that moment, I feel such a sense of loss. I miss my daddy.

Leave a Reply

