pets, stress, glucose tests

Pet update is as follows: So the doctor actually called us Friday night to tell us that Columbia had tested positive for valley fever. They then gave me the number to a bunch of pharmacies to call and get prices, but all those places were already closed for the weekend.

So, thinking I’d like to start her on meds ASAP, I asked for the vet to call in a 10 day supply (20 pills) to Walgreens. I figured this would run us about $50. Instead they wanted $95. Bobby refused to pay. Saturday morning I discovered that Costco sells the drug, and that I can get 90 pills (45 day supply) for $39. So we got the prescription filled at Costco and started the meds on Saturday.

Nigeria doesn’t seem to be eating or drinking, or if he is, it’s not much. He’s mildly dehydrated. I’m force feeding him kitten formula twice a day and canned food once a day. I’m going to get some antibiotics from the vet today for him ($15) and see if that helps. There is a second drug they want him on, but I don’t know the dosage yet, and I’ll need to have it compounded at the apothecary shop. I should hopefully be able to get that tomorrow.

Friday night we played Rick’s game, and I fell asleep again. I can’t game past about 10pm it seems without dozing off, no matter how much I like the game. It’s sad. I remember doing this same thing when pregnant with Landon.

Saturday was a comedy of errors getting the prescription filled for Colo. Costco claimed the vet hadn’t called it in, even though the vet called me after they called it in and told me they had called it in. So after being told they didn’t have it, and me totally loosing it in Costco (hello pregnancy hormones) an hour later we called Costco to transfer the smaller (20 pill) RX from Walgreens to Costco, only to have the girl on the phone tell us that the Vet had called in the prescription. So I had to go back two hours later and talk to the same lady I was rude to and burst into tears in front of to pick up the meds.

We did have a nice lunch at Red Robin though. They sent me my birthday coupon for a free burger, and Landon’s birthday coupon for a free kids’ meal. Since our birthday are within 2 weeks of each other, they let us use both coupons. The only issue I had was that they wanted to bring us out sundaes even after I had already explained that Landon was allergic. At least we managed to stop them before they brought it out. It makes me sad too, because I love it when they do that at restaurants, with the singing and the free sugar. (I know, I’m weird)

Saturday evening we went over to Laura’s to see Sam and Becky, as they were are in town for a few days. It was great to catch up. When we were done with dinner, Mel followed us home for three episodes of Trueblood, so now I’m only one episode behind. I really like that show.

Sunday we hit Babies R Us, I wanted to see if they had the Joovy Caboose Stand On Tandem Stroller because I’m 95% sure I want that stroller for Landon and Oliver to share. They, of course, didn’t have it. Still it’s the one I want, so it’s on our registry

We also watched the newest The Fast and The Furious movie. I love me some Vin Diesel. It was a good movie and I enjoyed it. There are like 10 movies that just came out on video that I want to see, I’m so behind! We’re just too tired to manage.

On Friday they sent him home with some food in his lunch bag that was not his. This upset me as I worry that he could accidently be given something that does not belong to him and has milk in it. I talked to the head of the preschool today about it, so hopefully that will be that.

They are very impressed with Landon overall. His friend Emily is going to be promoted to the third year class tomorrow, as she turned 3 in May. Due to his level of development and basic knowledge, and the fact that he hasn’t had an accident at school yet, they are going to promote him to the third year class this week as well, starting tomorrow. Since he turns three on Friday, he’s only starting a couple of days early, but I’m happy they are willing to move him. I think the three year old room will be more his speed, and him and Emily being together is always a good thing. Beyond that it’s cheaper. I’m a little worried about moving him so soon, but I’d rather do it with Emily than by himself later.

Landon does not want to go to school. I keep hoping it will get better. Friday was bad, but today was worse. He didn’t want to wake up, he didn’t want to get out of bed, he didn’t want to get dressed, he didn’t want to pee in the potty, etcetera.

He basically cried from the moment he found out we were going to school, until I pried his little hands off me and left him at preschool. I felt MISERABLE doing it. I tried to get him to calm down, I stayed and sat with him for a few minutes and rocked him. I read him a book. In the end, I was already running about 15 minutes late when we got to preschool just from fighting him all morning to get him out the door. I spent about 10 minutes in class with him, and I finally just had to go.

I hate leaving him crying.

It makes me just want to cry too. It makes me worried that the choices I’ve been happy with, and that Landon seemed happy with, aren’t the right ones. I like working. I like Landon going to school. I want what’s best for Landon, and I don’t think me being a SAHM mom is the best solution for any of us. But days like this, I wonder. And not having a childcare choice set up for Oliver makes me wonder even more. Add on to that the whole work laying me off and my upward mobility choices right now within the company, I don’t necessarily think I’m going to be with this company much longer.

I’m not sure what to do. I feel very conflicted and upset and depressed and stressed right now. Between the pets deciding to get sick at the same time, all the appointments, the pregnancy, Bobby’s work being a PITA, and Landon hating school, I just want to throw in the towel, curl up in bed, and cry for a month. Is there such a thing as pre-partum depression? I’m starting to wonder.

I am so stressed about the Glucose testing that I don’t have words for it, hanging out for an HOUR at the lab is not something anyone (including me!) has time to do. That also means an hour of sitting in the lab knowing that I’m going to have a blood draw, and that suspense will make me so ill. I don’t think I can do this. What type of mother am I when I can’t even do this? I really don’t think I can do this.

Bobby and I spent a lot of time this weekend talking about names. Actually, Saturday afternoon we spent about 2 hours with a group of people at Laura’s brainstorming and stuff. Bobby still likes the name Oliver best. I’m still not sold. Let’s give it a week or two.

One of the nicknames for Oliver that we like is Ollie. We tried to get Landon to say Ollie. He says WallE.

Leave a Reply

