Easter 09

Gah, I feel like crap.
I’ve had allergies since we moved back to AZ. Just a minor congestion in the springtime, nothing major. I usually take Claritin and it goes away, no problem. This year, given the state of my belly, I’ve not been taking Claritin. I noticed on Thursday that my congestion had returned. It’s been getting steadily worse over the last few days, and now I’m starting to think I have a cold or something.
I’ve got a bad cough, it’s uncomfortable and mildly painful. When I wake my throat is sore, and I’m tired/achy all over. I just want to go back to bed. But no, here I am at work. I’m thinking about going home on my lunch break, honestly.

I think part of the problem might be the fact that I overdid it this weekend.

Friday we went out to dinner with some friends. We managed to get a table for 11 people at Spinatos, and the food was SO GOOD. After dinner we went back to Laura’s and talked until a tired Landon crawled up in Bobby’s lap and fell asleep. It was too cute. We got home at an okay hour though.

Saturday morning I woke up to lots and lots of Rain. Rain in AZ is weird. This rain was coming down pretty hard though. I knew we were suppose to go to an Egg Hunt in AJ with the family, but I figured in the rain, we would be skipping it. I called Mickey (MIL) and was told we were still planning on going.

So we had an Egg Hunt:

Pouring rain Pouring rain
Prospector Park Easter Egg Hunt 4/11/09
Landon helps hold the umbrella Landon helps hold the umbrella
Prospector Park Easter Egg Hunt 4/11/09
Jesse dislikes the rain Jesse dislikes the rain
Prospector Park Easter Egg Hunt 4/11/09
Eli and Gabe don't seem to mind it though Eli and Gabe don’t seem to mind it though
Prospector Park Easter Egg Hunt 4/11/09
Heather and Jesse are ready to hunt Heather and Jesse are ready to hunt
Prospector Park Easter Egg Hunt 4/11/09
Egg grabs Egg grabs
Prospector Park Easter Egg Hunt 4/11/09
over there? over there?
Prospector Park Easter Egg Hunt 4/11/09
this is fun! this is fun!
Prospector Park Easter Egg Hunt 4/11/09
even Jesse likes it even Jesse likes it
Prospector Park Easter Egg Hunt 4/11/09
Happy Easter Happy Easter
Prospector Park Easter Egg Hunt 4/11/09

Actually, despite the rain, it was a lot of fun, but rather cold. And wet, of course.

After that, it was Landon’s cousin Eli’s 5th birthday party. We had a lot of fun at Eli’s party:

Bubbles? Bubbles?
Eli’s 5th Birthday, at Heather’s home, 4/11/09
BUBBLES! BUBBLES!
Eli’s 5th Birthday, at Heather’s home, 4/11/09
I love Bubbles I love Bubbles
Eli’s 5th Birthday, at Heather’s home, 4/11/09
More Bubbles! More Bubbles!
Eli’s 5th Birthday, at Heather’s home, 4/11/09
so bubbletastic so bubbletastic
Eli’s 5th Birthday, at Heather’s home, 4/11/09
awesome awesome
Eli’s 5th Birthday, at Heather’s home, 4/11/09
gift time gift time
Eli’s 5th Birthday, at Heather’s home, 4/11/09
Van and Donny watch the Chaos Van and Donny watch the Chaos
Eli’s 5th Birthday, at Heather’s home, 4/11/09
Rocker! Rocker!
Eli’s 5th Birthday, at Heather’s home, 4/11/09
What's this? What’s this?
Eli’s 5th Birthday, at Heather’s home, 4/11/09
so excited so excited
Eli’s 5th Birthday, at Heather’s home, 4/11/09
The best gift ever! The best gift ever!
Eli’s 5th Birthday, at Heather’s home, 4/11/09
The cake The cake
Eli’s 5th Birthday, at Heather’s home, 4/11/09
Birthday boy blows out his candles Birthday boy blows out his candles
Eli’s 5th Birthday, at Heather’s home, 4/11/09
Chyna finds the Bubbles! Chyna finds the Bubbles!
Eli’s 5th Birthday, at Heather’s home, 4/11/09

But we didn’t end up staying too long. Landon decided to forgo his dairy free cupcake in favor of playing Hungry Hungry Hippos. Perhaps that would make a good Birthday present for him, he was fascinated by the game.

We headed home and put Landon down for a nap. Landon suddenly realized that he’d missed out on some AWESOME cupcakes. (Bobby’s homemade wheat/dairy free cupcakes were 100X’s better than the regular store bought cupcakes that everyone else ate). Anyway, so he begged for one just as I was putting him down for a nap. Since we had already planned to give him one, I told him he could have one after nap.

I tagged Bobby and then headed out to redemptionsongs’ baby shower. I had a lot of fun and it was great to meet everyone and catch up with people. Also, little Shane was SO CUTE! And Cassia and Holly are SO BIG.

I got home close to 4, and Bobby told me that when he went to get Landon up a little after 3, a very sleepy Landon asked pathetically for a cupcake. Bobby got him out of bed and set him on the couch. Landon slowly woke up, and Bobby set a cupcake next to him. Landon watched TV and when Bobby looked back at him about 10 minutes later, Landon was still quietly watching TV in almost the same position Bobby had left him in, only the cupcake was half eaten and the child’s face was covered in frosting.

At 5:10 we left for Laura’s, where we were rendezvousing with some friends and leaving Landon with Courtney so that we could all go to revmamacrystal’s Sci Fi party. At 5:17 we realized we’d left the GF cake we were bringing at home, so we went back for it. This meant we arrived late, but with cake, so I guess that’s a good thing.

We left Landon who was pretty happy to have Courtney to himself, and went to the party with Mel, Christene, and kyerdun in tow. The party was a blast, there was good food and good company, and it’s always nice to see crazyrennie. We watched a Dr. Who (third doctor) and some classic BSG, complete with special guest star Dr. Quinn, and the Mirror Mirror episode of classic ST.

At that point, it was getting pretty late, so we headed back to Laura’s and stepped over sleeping children in an attempt to find our own little boy. We loaded Landon up and took him home.

Sunday I woke up sick, and we spent most of Easter at home. We took a small trip to a park and had lunch at Del Taco, followed by some shopping at Safeway.

Landon really liked his Easter presents:

Smiles Smiles
April 09
Landon's easter basket Landon’s easter basket
Easter 4/12/09
what's this? what’s this?
Easter 4/12/09
Bubbles?  I love Bubbles! Lets open it right now! Bubbles? I love Bubbles! Lets open it right now!
Easter 4/12/09
Oh! wait, CARS! The best gift EVER Oh! wait, CARS! The best gift EVER
Easter 4/12/09
The basket is nothing compared to the cars it gives The basket is nothing compared to the cars it gives
Easter 4/12/09
yep, only cares about the cars yep, only cares about the cars
Easter 4/12/09
Chasing Bubbles Chasing Bubbles
At the park Easter 4/12/09
Easter Bubbles Easter Bubbles
At the park Easter 4/12/09
Where did they go? Where did they go?
At the park Easter 4/12/09
the same picture take 1 the same picture take 1
I can’t decide which one I like better, 1, 2, or 3. you tell me. At the park Easter 4/12/09
take 2 take 2
I can’t decide which one I like better, 1, 2, or 3. you tell me. At the park Easter 4/12/09
take 3 take 3
I can’t decide which one I like better, 1, 2, or 3. you tell me. At the park Easter 4/12/09

My mom called to wish us happy Easter and let me know that my little brother Sam is getting laid off at the end of the month, so if anyone has read down this far and has some job leads for a tech support/call center 20 something, let me know and I’ll pass them on to him.
After all that, we watched the latest Doctor Who episode last night, “Planet of the Dead” which I really liked. If you can get your hands on it somehow, you should watch it. I’m sure the SciFi channel will show it next year, after they air the Christmas special from last year.

Also watched Dollhouse, which is improving, but still has plot holes big enough to drive a truck through.

This morning I woke up feeling not so great. And Landon threw up at daycare, but seems fine. I’m guessing he was spinning or something. Anyway, so at lunch I’m going home and going to WFH for the rest of the day, which means I need to get some work done now.

Oh yeah, and send Amazon a note telling them that this censorship thing will not stand (read about it here in case you missed it)

Leave a Reply

