an announcement

Of course, many of you know that after miscarrying Meeple due to a blighted ovum a few months back, We’ve been hoping for a healthy pregnancy. On Friday, March 13th, I took a pregnancy test.

bear?

I was pretty happy, but also scared, so I waited a couple weeks to tell you all about it.

Bobby and I nicknamed the little zygote “Bear” because we want this baby to be strong, like Bear. And to be tough, like bear. And to be cute, like Bear. You get the idea.

Yesterday I went to see Dr. Kells. I plan to birth with the midwife, but since Dr. Kells was the one who held my hand through the miscarriage, and was the one who I called in the middle of the night when I was scared because of how much blood there was, I wanted to see him the first time.

Dr. Kells was awesome, and he got me a quick ultrasound. He warned me that at 6weeks 1day there wouldn’t be much to see, as the baby would be TINY. I mean, according to babycenter.com, Bear is the somewhere between the size of sesame seed and a lentil.

Bear was so tiny in the picture, that when the sac first appeared on the screen, I thought it was empty again. For about 15 terrifying seconds, I thought this was another blighted ovum. My heart dropped, and I almost cried.

Then the doctor reached over and pointed at the screen, and I saw this:

Bear's first picture Bear’s first picture
I know, I know, you can’t see anything. It’s because Bear is so tiny. I circled her in red, but she’s little blur. The doctor confirmed it was there, and we could see the heartbeat on the US. 3/31/09

Everything else came back all normal. I’m healthy, the embryo looks healthy. The embryo was too small to get a good measure on the machine we were using, but that’s normal. The egg sac measured right on for 6weeks1day.

We are due Nov 23rd.

My research indicates that once you see the heartbeat, the chance of miscarriage drops from about 30% to about 5%-10%, depending on the study. With those odds in my favor, I decided to make today’s announcement.

Please cross your fingers for us that Bear is healthy! I’m so excited for us to complete our family!

And yes, I’m aware of the irony of making an announcement like this on April Fools. It’s not an April Fools joke, I couldn’t joke about this.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Laura
    Apr 01, 2009 @ 11:14:21

    Woot! Now that the innernets know, I can write about it!

    Reply

  2. Christa
    Apr 03, 2009 @ 23:25:26

    I love that you’re calling her Bear. That’s so sweet. I’m on http://www.behindthename.com all the time looking for character names. I amused myself. Here’s what I just found.

    Girl names meaning Bear:
    Ayla (Literature)
    Kallisto (ancient Greek)
    Nita (Native American)
    Ursula (English, Scandanavian, German, Dutch, Spanish, Finnish) – It’s also my grandmother’s name.
    Valencia (Spanish)
    Winnie (English)

    Reply

    • jadesymb
      Apr 04, 2009 @ 08:36:18

      I love getting suggestions, once we get closer to finding out the gender, there will be some open calls for suggestions, but feel free to suggest away!!!!
      TIA
      jen

      Reply

  3. Christa
    Apr 03, 2009 @ 23:26:17

    I told you, I like the naming part. Don’t feel pressured to use anything I throw at you. It’s just all in fun.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

