Matsuri festival and the demon child

Friday night I ran D&D, which was a lot of fun. I find that I enjoy running the canned adventure for D&D, as it doesn’t take a ton of effort to run, but at the same time is very enjoyable.
Saturday morning we got up and went out to the Tempe Marketplace and walked around, and followed that up with a very tasty time at Spinato’s pizza (they have great gluten free pizza and Landon can have pasta).
After lunch we went home, and Landon refused to nap. We put him down for nap, but after about 90 minutes gave up and let him get up.

Our fridge, as you recall, broke in December, and we got a new one, which also broke. We had someone come out and do that. Well, about 2 weeks ago it broke AGAIN. We called and they took forever to come out and fix it. When it was still not fixed on Saturday, we gave up and took it back. So Landon went to grandma’s house and we loaded the fridge up in the van and drove it back to Costco. They took it back no problem. Then we went and bought another fridge at Costco (same model and everything) and loaded that up and took it home. So here’s hoping that the new fridge works great, and that the first one was just a lemon.

After that, we took Bobby’s parents out for dinner to thank them for all their help with everything. Landon turned into a DEMON CHILD at dinner. He was just overtired and over stimulated. That lack of nap was killing him. So we took him home and put him to bed.

Bobby made this stellar cake for dessert, and Mel came over to eat it with us and then play Rockband.


We picked up Gyan and Emily and went to the Matsuri festival on Sunday. It was pretty neat. I loved looking at everything, but the highlight for me was the $3 Thai iced teas. So tasty. Landon and Emily seemed to have fun, Landon really liked the drums.

We dropped Gyan and Em off at home and took Landon home for a nap. He again refused to nap. I tucked him into bed and made him stay in his bed for almost 2 hours of normal nap time. He was happy and played in his bed for all that time. I mean, I know he got up out of bed and got toys and climbed back in bed, but he WOULD NOT SLEEP.

This would be fine with me, if he wanted to give up naps, except that at about 5pm he turned into the DEMON CHILD again. Bedtime was horrific, with screaming and crying and temper tantrums galore. We finally got him to bed, and then we went upstairs to watch Dollhouse off our DVR.

I liked the second episode better than the first, but overall, it’s still not GREAT. I don’t know if I’d keep watching under normal circumstances, but I do get some pleasure from it, and it is joss, so I think I’ll hang out for some more episodes. I’ve heard it gets good and finds its groove around episode 6, so we shall see!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Laura
    Feb 23, 2009 @ 14:06:53

    😦 The pic of the cake is not showing up. Caaaaaake…

    Reply

  2. chigatana
    Feb 24, 2009 @ 10:13:22

    Re: Dollhouse.

    I agree. It’s a pretty good show, but not great. I’m not sure if I would have felt the same about Firefly if I’d only seen the first couple of episodes, but I don’t think so. I do like the premise a lot, though. We’ll see.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

