general updatedness

I’ve been a little depressed recently, a little bit out of sorts, and it’s been keeping me from posting. Still, I think I’m starting to come out of my funk, so let’s try for a real post.

We earn cash back by using our Amex card, and our check came this month. Bobby used the check to buy himself a vita-mix and he bought me a Kindle 2, because he rocks. (I told him the cash back this year was his to play with, because he deserves it. He totally surprised me by getting me something!

I’m pretty excited at the prospect of a Kindle. I’m hoping it lives up to the hype. Right now my biggest worry is how many of my Books WON’T be available on Kindle? Also, I admit, I wish that all the books in my library would give me access to them on Kindle. I mean, I bought the print copy…. And loaning out Kindle versions is unacceptable, so if I read something good, I can’t share it with my book friends without buying a hardcopy. I run into this problem sometimes with Audiobooks. My friend over at snerkology is slowly working her way through the Sookie books, but if I had physical copies of them I would have just loaned them to her. Instead, I had to convince her to read them and buy them herself! Overall, I’m very excited about my Kindle. I already know the first book I plan to read on it! Kitty Raises Hell comes out just a week or two before I get my Kindle in the mail, so I’m going to resist buying a hardcopy and wait for the kindle to get here! I already verified that it will be available on Kindle. SO EXCITED.

I’m not pregnant. Which might have something to do with the depression. I don’t want to talk about it too much, but I am starting a new “get healthy” regime. I currently weigh about 15 lbs more than I did when I got pregnant with Landon. I don’t know if that is a contributing factor, but as long as I’m being healthy about weight loss, it should be safe to do while TTC. I’m trying to cut back on the bad food, eat more good, and most importantly, add workouts back in.

We the 8K at the Lost Dutchman marathon on Sunday, and it left me pretty wiped out. I mean, I only walked it, but I still feel it today, which tells me how out of shape I have let myself get. Last year when I walked it, I barely felt it the next day. This has to change. So, in spirit of that, I did my old Pilates dvd yesterday (taller by the end of the class) which was way harder than I remember. Today at lunch I went to the onsite gym and put in 30 minutes on the bike. I went for the bike because I can read and work out at the same time on the bike, and I wanted to finish my book. I’m hoping a refocus on exercise with some better food choices will both help get me in shape as well as help me conceive a healthy, happy baby.

Valentine’s Day we didn’t do anything too special. Both the gift I ordered Bobby and the gift he ordered me (both small items) did not manage to arrive in time. We had no babysitter either, but Bobby made me some excellent steaks for dinner. He also bought me some flowers, which I totally loved. Landon was pretty good for us. We had lunch with Uncle Jack and Uncle Sam (picture in previous post) at Sweet Tomatoes, which was tasty.

Friday night we went to Laura’s for a 7th sea game. It’s been a long while since I played it. When I went to add my character to my computer, I found a bunch of character sheets from the very first game we played. The game was fun, and we also ate some very good popcorn.

Overall, the three day weekend was relaxing and enjoyable. Both Bobby and I totally needed it.

Also, two or three weeks ago, we managed to go see Underworld: Rise of the Lycans. I think I would have enjoyed it more if I hadn’t known how it ended, since the story was told already in the other Underworld movies. Or, I would have enjoyed it more if it had ended the way I wanted it too, but I knew it couldn’t, since I already knew the story.

So that’s what’s new with me.

Leave a Reply

