Sin Taxes on Soda

http://www.nytimes.com/2008/12/17/nyregion/17sugartax.html?_r=3&em
What do you think?  Would it help?

More taxs always suck, sin taxes I’m usually okay with.  I don’t think it will stop people from drinking soda, and it will probably increase the cost of drinks, particularly at “serve yourself” drink stations.  “No man, I swear I’ll get diet!  Give me the cheaper price?”  
This means that prices for a “Meal” at McD’s will go up.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. amykoi
    Jan 08, 2009 @ 16:25:41

    It probably won’t help, but I say, why not? Soda makes you fat, ruins your teeth, and who knows what the chemicals do to one’s body over the long term. If what they are saying is true, then the people who drink the most soda are the ones least able to pay for the negative long-term effects it has on the body.

    Do I drink soda? Yes–but only diet.

    Would I support it if they taxed diet? Sure. Diet soda contributes to cancer.

    Also, just because the majority of people don’t want it doesn’t mean it is the right thing to do. The majority of people in the south wanted slavery, and the majority of people in California passed Prop. 8.

    The main reason I would consider objecting, if I had to vote on it, is that the $400 million collected in taxes would be abused and/or wasted by the government idiots in charge. They would buy $800 toilet seats for the asses of the committee members tasked with coming up with a campaign aimed at schools that features a lame talking milk carton. All the while lining the pockets of the milk lobbyists, I’m sure.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

