This week inside Jen:

****
How your baby’s growing: Your baby’s ready to greet the world! He continues to build a layer of fat to help control his body temperature after birth, but it’s likely he already measures about 20 inches and weighs a bit over 7 pounds. (Boys tend to be slightly heavier than girls.) Your baby’s organs are fully developed and in place, and the outer layers of skin are sloughing off as new skin forms underneath.

His lungs are maturing and surfactant production is increasing and fully prepared to take on the outside world!

Your baby doesn’t have much room to move and certainly mom agrees! Did you imagine 8 months ago that this wee one would be able to hook a toe in your ribs while elbowing your bladder? He certainly has grown!

****

I moved my doctors appt from Tues to Thurs this week, as I would prefer to have the labor after my birthday.  I don’t think my doc would sweep my membranes or anything like that without my permission, but I’ve read one to many stories where that is exactly what happened, so I thought it best to wait.

I’ve been having more contractions on and off, but nothing with a discernable pattern, or with any frequency.  I’ll have one every couple of hours or so, maybe more at night when I go to bed.  I don’t know why I get more at night, but the tend to be just barely strong enough to disturb my sleep.

I’m hoping for sometime soon, like maybe Friday, to finally be able to have this little one.

Bobby has been amazing, supportive, and wonderful recently.  He keeps telling me “eat this” or “do this” because it bring on “Pregnancy.”  I keep telling him that no, SEX brings on pregnancy, what he is suggesting might help bring on labor!  It’s adorable.  His latest theory is that bacon will bring on labor.  I’ve got no evidence to support this, but why look a ton of guilt free bacon in the mouth? Or better yet, why not put it in your mouth!  We did a ton of walking yesterday, and while it seemed to help bring on the occasional contraction, overall, Lan just isn’t quite ready to come out yet.

I am so very lucky to have Bobby, I couldn’t have made it this far without him, and I would be a nervous wreck over the whole labor thing if I didn’t know he will be there with me every moment.

On a complete different topic, I thought that post-partum depression didn’t start until after you had the baby.  I find myself with still a week to go till my due date, baby snug inside me, and a rather icky depression settling on me that won’t go away.  I’m guessing it is mostly hormonal; I don’t have anything to really be all that depressed about.  I mean, I’ve got family issues, but I almost always have those.  Other than that, things are going well.  I’m a little annoyed because someone who I have known is avoiding me has also apparently been bad talking me, and it took me about 3 months to even notice.  This tells me a few things, one, that person (and their opinions of me) isn’t important to me, two, that person really didn’t have that great of an effect on my other relationships, and three, that person is someone I should feel sorry for at this point in their lives.  Unlike them, I’m not going to resort to name calling. 

Either way, it hasn’t been great for my depression to discover this now.  I often feel okay (not depressed too badly) during the day, but it seems to hit me every night pretty hardcore, you know, once the lights go out and I have nothing to distract my brain.  It annoys me that rather than feeling happy (as I should feel, what with a much wanted baby due to make an appearance at any moment) I seem to fixate on the depressing.  I suppose this also puts me at a greater risk for Post Partum Depression. 

Leave a Reply

