This week inside Jen
********
How your baby’s growing: Congratulations! Your pregnancy is now considered full term — meaning your baby is developmentally ready to handle life outside the womb. (Babies born before 37 weeks are pre-term and those born after 42 weeks are post-term.) Your baby probably weighs a little over 6 pounds at this point and measures between 19 and 20 inches, head to heel.
Many babies have a full head of hair at birth, with locks from 1/2 inch to 1 1/2 inches long. But don’t be surprised if your baby’s hair isn’t the same color as yours. Dark-haired couples are sometimes thrown for a loop when their children are born blonds or redheads, and fair-haired couples have been surprised by Elvis look-alikes. And then, of course, some babies sport only peach fuzz.
Your baby continues to practice breathing movements. Isn’t it amazing how he can breathe “under water?” Grasp is firm now. It won’t be long until you’ll feel that strong little fist confidently grasping your finger (or tightly clenching your hair)! A few weeks ago, your baby would move his eyes toward light. Now he turns towards light outside the uterus. As the uterine wall stretches and thins allowing more light to permeate, he develops definite daily activity cycles. You will want to be sure to establish good patterns yourself at this time, thus encouraging them in your child. Ever heard of a baby getting his days/nights mixed up? Now’s the time to try to avoid that!
********
So here we are at full term:

As I keep saying, Landon better wait until Sunday. Not that I think he will be early, as nice as that might be. Bobby is suddenly convinced that Lan will make his grand entrance on his birthday (July 26th) I am personally hoping that Lan avoids both our birthdays (mine being Aug 2nd) and comes on his own day.
I got the hospital bag all packed. I really hope I covered everything that I would need in the stupid thing. That is something that would be nice about a home birth, to not have to stress about what to bring with you. I’m sure its gonna be one of the things.
So, doctors appt.
Everything looks good. I finally got an appt with the Dr I actually like, Dr. R. She’s who I intend to see until I go to the hospital, if at all possible. See, I had my TC day on Weds, so I went on Weds, and she didn’t take appt on Weds, so I saw either the nurse or Dr M, the old scary guy doc.
Anyway, the strep test came back Negative, so I’m all set to fight my NO IV battle at the hospital. Since we’re still (most likely) going to be in the apartment (where the hospital is less than 10 miles away), my goal is to labor at home for as long as possible anyway.
She said that the baby is head down, with his butt tucked under my right ribs, his back on my right, and he is facing my left side. This jives with everything I’ve been feeling from the little guy movement wise.
They told me next week I’ll get my first cervical check, which is both good and bad. I know that its not always in the best interest to have it checked every week, but at the same time, I’d kinda like to know where I am, and I think skipping them would cause an argument I’m not in the mood for.
I did decide for sure that I am not going back to this OBGYN in the future (read after my 6 week checkup after Lan is born), despite liking Dr R. See, I pay my work for Short Term Disability benefits. My work has to verify with my Doctor that I am, indeed, preggo and ready to pop for me to get my paid maternity leave. I mentioned this to the nurses as I checked out, (hey, here’s the form I got sent by my work, can you please fill it out and fax it back?) and got told that my DOCTOR’s OFFICE charges ME $20 for this. Is this normal? Cause I’m a little with the outraged right now. I mean, I (or my insurance) pays them a shitload of money to take care of me, and they are charging me with an extra $20 to REPORT to my work what’s up so I can GET PAID?!?!?!?!?! WTF????? I still haven’t paid them the $215 they asked for 2 months back. I was gonna pay it today (because, at this point, I’m not switching doctors) until they charged me the $20 for the paperwork. Screw them!

I’m really debating a hair cut, advice would be nice. When its wet, it’s the longest I’ve ever let it get too, over half way down my back. Should I cut it? Where would I go to cut it? I don’t have a place down here anymore….

Leave a Reply

