Happy Fourth of July!!!

This week inside Jen
********
How your baby’s growing: Your baby’s getting big. He weighs a tad over 5 pounds and is just over 18 inches long. Because it’s so snug in your womb, he isn’t likely to be doing somersaults anymore, but the number of times he kicks should remain about the same. His kidneys are fully developed now, and his liver can process some waste products. Most of his basic physical development is now complete — he’ll spend the next few weeks putting on weight. Most babies born now will survive and without many long-term problems. Fat accumulations plumps up the arms and legs this week. These layers of fat will help him regulate his body temperature. They also provide those cute little dimples on elbows and knees! His hearing is fully developed, so be sure to talk to your son. Some studies show babies respond better to higher pitches. It’s getting crowded! Your baby is now taking up most of the uterus and you may even feel like your chest has run out of room! Soon enough though, baby will move down and you’ll be able to breathe easily again (just not walk so easily! Ha!). The testes have completed their descent in males.
********
We’ve been out at the house almost every day this long weekend, and I think that Lan doesn’t like the heat. Normally when I am sitting down reading or working, he moved about, happy as could be. When I’m sitting out at the house, he doesn’t move. It’s starting to stress me out. He moves fine once we get cooled off again. He just doesn’t like the heat. Or maybe the heat makes me sleepy. Doc told me he can sleep for up to 90 minutes at a time.
Today we are heading back out there, but I am hoping to spend most of the day up the street at my inlaws, inside, in the cool. I’ve been very careful not to end up dehydrated.
I’m at 35 weeks pregnant today, with 35 days to go. Or just over one month. I just need to pick up a freaking car seat and we will be ready for Landon at that point.
I haven’t had time to go buy one with us being out at the house all weekend.

I don’t know if I’ve said it here before or not, but I want to have it on record that my best prediction for Lan’s great entrance into the world is August 15th. I really think that will be his birthday. My reasoning? Mostly gut feeling.
Anyone else want to hazard a guess? Break out those tarot cards or mystic crystal balls and let me know!
For those of you who have had kids, did you have a birthday guess? How far off were you?

Leave a Reply

