33 Weeks pregnant, only 49 more days to go.
This week inside Jen:
*****************
How your baby’s growing: This week your baby weighs a little over 4 pounds and measures 17.2 inches from the top of his head to his heels. His skin is becoming less red and wrinkled, and while most of his bones are hardening, his skull is quite pliable and not completely joined. This will help him ease out of your relatively narrow birth canal.
Amniotic fluid is at its highest level during your pregnancy.
Your baby’s head size has increased 3/8ths of an inch due to rapid brain growth.
Neurons and synapses are developing in huge numbers — forming connections in your baby’s brain will give him the skills he needs to thrive as a newborn. This week, he may be able to coordinate sucking and swallowing with breathing.
You baby takes intermittent deep breaths — of water! That’s okay, though since he gets oxygen from the placenta. This breathing exercises muscles and encourages his lung cells to produce more surfactant (a protein essential for healthy lung development).
If your baby is a boy, his testicles will be descending from his abdomen into his scrotum. Sometimes one or both testicles won’t move into position until after birth.
*****************
I went to a breast feeding class last night. It was good in the sense that I got to watch a video that showed proper breast feeding techniques, and that we got to “practice” the different ways to hold the baby (on dolls) to see how we should hold the baby while feeding. The rest of the class was kind of a waste for me. I do my research and had read up on most of the things we talked about.
First of all the teacher was lacking the structure. She gave us an outline of what we were going to go over, but she kept encouraging everyone to ask questions, and people kept the questions all over the place, so we were jumping topics and not following any sort of logical pattern. There was also someone there who was dumb. I mean, she had to have everything explained to her four times, and had lots of bad information that she kept thinking was right, even after teacher told her it was bad.
The teacher was very anti-pacifiers. I asked when we should introduce pacifiers if we wanted to use them to lower the risk of SIDS. (A November 2005 recommendation by the American Academy of Pediatrics encourages the use of pacifiers because they appear to substantially cut the risk of sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS). The new guidelines also say that there’s little evidence that pacifiers damage teeth or cause infants to lose interest in breast-feeding.) She told me she had never heard that, and it was only when one of the other girls corroborated my story that she agreed to look into it. I had not personally planned to use a pacifier until I saw this study. I never used one as a baby, my mom said I would spit it out, and wanted nothing to do with it.
I really am wishing I was done with work already. I am tired all the time and want to sleep, or take a nap in the middle of the day now. I’m also getting large and awkward. When I sit for long periods (read, anytime I am at my desk for more than 30 minutes), my body starts to do weird things. For example, when I stand back up, it feels like my hips aren’t connected to my legs correctly. I can still walk, but it inevitably looks like the famed “pregnancy waddle,” and it bothers my low back if I waddle for too long. So basically, when I stand up, I have to concentrate on getting my legs properly connected into the right space so that I can walk. I had round ligament pain before, but now it happens sooner and hurts more. Overall, the last couple of weeks of pregnancy have been the hardest on me, and I have seven (+/- 2) more weeks to go. And I fully expect this child to be late, so be prepared.
The one thing that is both cute and annoying is that Lan has taken to kicking my desk at work. See, I like to be up close to my desk, and now my belly is in the way, so I lean my belly against my desk. Lan then kicks the spot where my belly hits the desk.
I took this picture this morning, so here I am at 33 weeks!

In other news, I am sick of the whole house building process. The stucco guys needed water. There is a spot where a faucet which is connected to the well comes up over by our house. All you have to do is turn the faucet.
Instead, they dropped a dirty icky pump into our nice clean well, and pumped water directly from the well. Now there are two other houses on this well, our neighbors. They are currently using the well for all their water needs (showers, toilets, sinks, washing dishes, bathing, perhaps even drinking), and the construction workers are dropping things into the well! What is wrong with some people?!?!?!?
So our neighbor called Bobby all pissed off, which makes this about the fourth time that various construction crews have done something to piss off one of the neighbors. I worry the neighbors are going to hate us when we get moved in, because of all the shit the crews did.
I just want the house to be done.

Leave a Reply

