Thank goodness for long weekends.
Friday we went to Sam and Aleana’s apartment, the friends we helped move last weekend, and had dinner with all the other assistant movers. It was fun, although odd. Laura brought her most beautiful children over, who were very well behaved, but there were a few moments of EEK, as we dealt with a two year old in a non-toddler safe home.
The rest of the weekend was pretty laid back. We hit Best Buy and got Season 3 of Rurouni Kenshin (http://www.tv.com/rurouni-kenshin/show/11459/summary.html?q=Rurouni%20Kenshin) and spent a lot of time watching the show this weekend.
Saturday we went and saw the horrid movie X3 at the new theatre, and you can scroll down to the post I made on Sunday to read all about that.
Sunday we went shopping and got massages over at Massage Envy. I have to say, it wasn’t worth it for me. They didn’t have any special table or anything for pregnant women, and so I got to lay on my side cuddling pillows while I got one side rubbed, then flip over and get the other side. The foot rub she gave was amazing, but that isn’t a surprise given how badly my feet hurt recently. When I got up from the massage bed, my body still felt stiff and sore, although my feet felt great. I was told that she couldn’t rub the top of my shoulders or a small area around my ankle because I was pregnant. I’ve heard about these “hot spots” before, places where preggos shouldn’t be rubbed for fear of inducing early labor. However, whenever I read about “how to induce labor” for the women who are at 40, 41, 42 weeks and just trying to speed the process along, no one ever mentions these magic “hot spots” so I don’t put a lot of credence into that old wives tale.
Bobby spent a lot of the weekend playing Heroes of Might and Magic, the new one that just came out. I spent my time reading a Lora Leigh book, and playing the New Super Mario Brothers for the DS. I am happy to say I beat the game! Well, I beat the last castle, and didn’t warp, but I still have a ton of things to unlock, if I get around to it.
Went out to the see the house yesterday, what with it being a holiday and having no work.

The foaming/chicken wire seems to be complete!

This is the in the guest/kids bath. It actually looks nice and comfy. It’s the only plumbing fixture in the house.

Dirk, Laura, and the kids came out with us to see the house. Here is everyone on the balcony. Also, you can see the upstairs walls were recently foamed, completing the foaming job.

These were the only new pictures I uploaded, but, as always, rest of the pics are here: http://pics.livejournal.com/jadesymb/gallery/0000xg06

We talked with Bobby’s parents, and the hope is to have the house done in about 7 weeks. We’ll see….
Bobby’s eldest sister was in the hospital this week. She had 2 cysts removed, and her appendix and gallbladder. They are going to biopsy the cysts to see if there was any cancer.
In other news, Sam (my little brother) called and said he found an apartment and was moving out sometime around the second week of June!

30 weeks along, which means 10 weeks, or 70 days until my due date…. Wow
This week inside Jen:
*******
How your baby’s growing: Your baby’s a bit more than 15 1/2 inches long now, and he weighs almost 3 pounds. A pint and a half of amniotic fluid surrounds him, but that volume will decrease as he gets bigger and fills out your uterus. His eyes open and close, he’s able to distinguish between light and dark, and he can even follow a light source back and forth. Once he’s born, he’ll keep her eyes closed for a good part of the day. When he does open them, he’ll respond to changes in light but will have a visual acuity of only 20/400 — which means he can only make out objects a few inches from her face.
His head is getting larger to accommodate a period of rapid brain growth. Don’t forget to continue to “teach” your baby in the womb by exposing to music, literature, and simply talking to him. He spends more and more time practicing opening and closing eyelids. His eyes can move from side to side, following a light source. He may even reach out to touch the light. Early lanugo is beginning to disappear that served to protect your baby’s skin from the water in the womb. Your little one’s own hair may begin to appear. Toenails are entering their final growth stage. Bone marrow is now in charge of red blood cell production. These red blood cells will continue to service your child’s body by transporting oxygen and removing the wastes (carbon monoxide and other gases). Your baby has the capability now to produce tears — yes, within the womb.
*******
Well, Mickey (My MIL) said that she got all the baby shower invites sent out.
We are registered at Babies R Us and http://www.amazon.com/gp/registry/babyreg/2T5JTM3XO7QWE
If you want to come and haven’t seen an invite by the end of the week, you can email me (jadesymb@yahoo.com) and I’ll get you either an official invite, or at least directions and such so that you can attend!
Not too much else to update on the pregnancy front. Uncomfortable, tired, not sleeping well, all very normal things for a person who is 30 weeks (roughly 7 months) pregnant.
I’m totally ready for my maternity leave, but that’s still 7 weeks off.
I have a doctor’s appt tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

