This week inside Jen
*****
How your baby’s growing: Your baby is really starting to fill up your uterus. This week he weighs almost 2 pounds and is about 14.4 inches long with his legs extended. He can now open and close his eyes, and he sleeps and wakes at regular intervals. He may suck his fingers, and although his lungs are still immature, they would be capable of functioning — with assistance — if he were to be born prematurely. Chalk up any rhythmic movement you may be feeling to a case of baby hiccups, which may be common from now on. Each episode usually lasts only a few moments, and isn’t bothersome to him, so enjoy the tickle. With more brain tissue developing, your baby’s brain is very active now. Wonder what he’s thinking?
Your little one’s brain continues its rapid growth. Don’t forget to share music, conversation, and even books with your baby!
Response to sound grows more consistent toward the end of the seventh month, when the network of nerves to the ear is complete. Your baby’s hearing continues to develop, he or she may start to recognize your voice as well as your partner’s.
Lungs continue to grow and prepare for functioning outside of the womb. Each day in the womb greatly increases survival rates!
He also continues to take small breaths and although he’s only breathing in water and not air, it’s still good practice for when he’s born.
Eyelids are now open more. Your baby can distinguish between light and dark.
Retinas have formed.
Your baby will grow over ½ inch this week alone! You may suspect this phenomenal growth rate repeats in the preteen years!
*****
Well, today marks the start of my 27th week. I have three months until my due date, although I honestly expect the little one to be later. I figure I’ll see him around August 15th, and currently, that’s just fine by me. I’m sure come August I’ll be whining and wanting him out though. Supposedly he has another week or two before he runs out of swimming space, and starts feeling cramped. I really wish he would turn head down. I hear women complaining about baby’s feet in their ribs, but him kicking downward is also uncomfortable sometimes. I prefer when he just kicks outward and makes my tummy jump. Next week will be the beginning of the third trimester!
My doctor’s appointment went well. No major anything. Baby’s fine, heart rate around 140 beats per minute, and my vitals are fine, good blood pressure. I had the glucoses test. I drank a bottle of sweet Hawaiian punch. I thought it was tasty. Then I had to wait an hour. While I was in the back drinking my punch, the nurse called me back for an appointment. It figures that the one time I actually have to be there for an hour, the doctor is running early. If I hadn’t had the glucose test, I would have been out of there in 30 minutes.
Dr set up my next appointment for 3 weeks out instead of 4, and after that point I go every two weeks for a while, and then eventually every week. He said that they don’t worry about baby’s direction, and have no real way to tell baby’s direction until much closer to the due date, usually around 36 or 38 weeks. 95% of babies go head down on their own, and that they can usually manually turn about 2-3% of that remaining five.
After I saw the doctor, I had to wait for a while, so I drummed up the girl from billing to fight over the $210 they want to charge me (see yesterday’s post).
She claims that they have ALWAYS billed that way, and that 18 years ago when she had her son that it was done this way. I told her that doesn’t make it right, she said that doesn’t make it wrong. I told her what made it wrong was that my insurance company said I shouldn’t pay it. She told me fine, don’t pay it. I asked what happens if I don’t pay it, and she basically shrugged off that question, because she didn’t really know. She said she “didn’t think” there were any fees or late charges.
I don’t like to have outstanding bills. The money is actually due on 6/15 (“we like you to pay this by your thirty-second week”). Part of me wants to pay it and have it over with, part of me is outraged at the stupidity. If I didn’t like the doctors there, well, that might be another story, but so far, I have no reason to complain. I am going to go tour the hospital on Saturday, and see how I feel after that. I may still change doctors, and part of the reason will be because of the stupid run around I got over the $210. For gods sakes, its not like they need the money right now, they have plenty, this is only 10% of the labor and delivery fees. Its not like they aren’t getting paid for services rendered. I can see the claims they’ve made against my insurance so far. The get paid after every one of my visits, usually around $200 a visit. If they get $200 for a half hour, then I don’t understand why they can’t follow simple guidelines set by my insurance company for billing, and bill after services rendered.
The other point? Really, $200 bucks isn’t currently that big of a deal to me either. We don’t live paycheck to paycheck, we know we will have to pay the money eventually. I mean, yes, I could go get Landon’s crib for that, so its still money, and still important, but not worth stressing over, and not paying it will make me stress.
On the other hand, what they are doing is wrong, and after Lan is born, I will either get billed a second time for any money they went over on their estimate, or I will have to ask for a refund (which I am sure will take forever) because they overcharged me.
So not sure what I am going to do on that front, advice welcome.
Anyway, so I finally gave up, because the woman wasn’t willing to listen to me at all. Her old school attitude upset me and made me uncomfortable. Of course, she’s just an office girl, not a nurse or doctor.
After that, I went back to the waiting room to wait the half hour until they could draw my blood. When I was called, Bobby went back with me, and held my hand and talked me through the whole needle thing. I really don’t want an IV. The blood draw took less than five minutes, and by the end of it, I was having trouble not freaking out. I could feel the needle in my skin, and it was driving me crazy.
Overall, the experience was not painful in a physical sense, and my arm is actually less sore than when they did this the last time.

Bobby is going out of town this week, he leaves tomorrow (Weds) morning, very early, and should be home Friday night. Saturday we have the hospital tour! Thursday night is the celebration for Darion’s (Laura’s son) birthday, or at least it’s when the adults are doing it. I think his actual birthday is today.
I mailed off a mothers day card to my mom, which should piss her off. (She hasn’t talked to me since she hung up on me last week) And one to my grandma (mom’s mom, the only remaining grandparent I have) which should make grandma happy. In my mother’s card, I pointed out that next mother’s day she would be a grandma too! I also ordered mom a mothers day gift, which she will love, but feel obligated to dislike, because it came from me. Now I just have to figure out what to do for her birthday at the end of the month.
Oh yeah, and my good news, my boss said that I can telecommute to work on Wednesdays from now on, unless there is a special event or something. So hopefully tomorrow I can work from home after I run Bobby to the airport.

Leave a Reply

