This week inside Jen
****
How your baby’s growing: Head to heels, your baby now measures about 13 1/2 inches. His weight — a pound and a half — doesn’t sound like much, but he’s beginning to exchange his long, lean look for some baby fat. As he does, his wrinkled skin will begin to smooth out and he’ll start to look more and more like a newborn. His hair is probably recognizable now (in color and texture), although both may change after he’s born.
The structures of the spine begin to form — joints, ligaments and rings. These will protect the all important spinal cord which serves as the information transmitter for your child’s body.
Blood vessels of the lungs develop.
Your baby’s nostrils begin to open. There is a study out of Belfast that suggests babies at this stage have the capability of scent preferences!
The nerves around the mouth and lip area are showing more sensitivity now. When baby is rooting for food later on, these will be valuable!
His swallowing reflexes are developing.
Dexterity is improving. Your baby can make a fist and would clasp objects placed in palm.
****
Ah, the joys of being knocked up… My bladder, which was better, is starting the slippery slope again; the frequency at which I must pee is increasing.
Lan is increasing in activity, although I look forward to a more predictable and regular movement. I don’t think I’ll ever get used to the surprise kicks though, you know, the ones that catch you completely off guard and make you jump? Those.
I know women at my stage claim to be able to watch the baby move, but so far, I only see him kick. It could be because I am carrying him so freaking low. My breasts and top of my tummy keep me from being able to comfortably watch my lower abdomen, where all the action seems to be.
I have the first start of a stretch mark already. *sigh* the propensity of my belly to itch is increasing. I keep meaning to hit Bath and Body works for some serious cream, as opposed to the cheap stuff I got at the drug store.
I know that I want a hospital birth, but Chandler regional makes me more and more leery, the more I read. I looked into the hospital on Dobson, called Banner Desert, where I was born, and they seem much friendlier with more options than Chandler. My current doctor delivers and Chandler Regional and I am set up to take a hospital tour and do all the classes with Chandler Regional.

Banner Desert says:
“Private LDR rooms (labor/delivery/recovery) furnished with comfortable recliners, rockers, birthing beds, color televisions with a relaxation channel, and private bathrooms. Comfortable lighting and soothing room colors provide a home-like feeling. Many labor options such as birthing balls and music are available. Couplet Care provides nursing for patients and their newborns and 24-hour room-ins are available.”

Chandler Regional Says:
“Each suite features a multi-position birthing bed so that you do not have to move to a different bed for delivery; a private bathroom with a shower; a state-of-the-art fetal monitoring system and all of the equipment needed to provide optimum care to you and your baby.”

I’m pretty sure delivering on a bed isn’t really the way I want to go, and it sounds like Banner would let me do it on a birthing ball, or at least spend most of my labor on one, where Chandler is pretty much thinking bed. Also, I know Chandler has a standard policy of inserting an IV, I don’t know if Dobson does.
I KNOW I can refuse the IV, and there isn’t much they can do about it, but hubby didn’t seem to hot on the idea. My point was that if the labor was long, I can always let them give it to me later. I also know that if I end up being induced, which is always possible, that the IV would be necessary. I want to do this on my own, but after almost killing my own mother at my birth, I really would rather have the doctor there, in case something did go wrong. I am really not comfortable with a home birth, and I am not so sure about switching to birthing center at this point in the game, plus, a birth center seems to me like it would still be lacking the doctor aspect. I want a doctor there, but I don’t want her to do ANYTHING unless something is wrong, and I think that maybe difficult.
I’ll take any advice on this issue.

Also, going to go to a Birth Circle this week on Thursday, with aliyna and mommycairenn, hopefully, if they show 🙂
It’s free, and should be interesting, in case anyone else is interested.
Phoenix Birth Circle – Thursday, April 27th @ 7pm

A beautiful group of women – pregnant moms, nursing moms, doulas and midwives – getting together to discuss different topics. The new location is at Global Midwifery’s office in Desert Sage Herb Shop. I would love to see you there!
The Birth Circle is a safe, nonjudgmental forum to share experiences, ask questions, connect with members of the local birth community, or just to listen and be a part of the experience. We are working toward the goal of empowering women to take control of their births, to provide them with caring support, sound guidance, and evidence-based information, and to create a safe place for encouragement, healing and connection.
East Valley Birth Circles are held on the fourth Thursday of the month at Global Midwifery/Desert Sage Herbs, at 7 p.m., at 1728 N. Alma School Road, Mesa, AZ 85224

Leave a Reply

