Well, overall, it was a nice weekend.
Friday night, Bobby bought me a dozen roses, and took me out to a nice dinner at Red White & Brew. Then we went out to the house site and took all the pictures I already posted.
Saturday we didn’t do anything incredibly interesting. I had my yoga class, which was very good, and Bobby had a backrub from massage envy, which he enjoyed. We went to home depot and looked at fixtures and other items for the house, and selected outside paint color and roof colors. Then we had dinner with my uncle Jack. Jack says he submitted the paperwork for the house to transfer to my name, and gave me a copy of the paperwork. It should be in my name by the end of next month, and then we can start working on selling it, or what have you. We also hit best buy and got Season 1 of the live action “The Flash” show that aired in the early 90s, as well as the Batman Beyond movie, Return of the Joker.
Sunday started out bad. They closed the entire freaking mall for Easter! That seems just stupid. We didn’t have any luck finding a place that was open for lunch, outside of a ridiculously expensive Easter buffet, which we ended up trying. The food wasn’t that good, and overall we were disappointed.
We went out to the botanical gardens and took some nice pictures of the plants and landscape out there, and we watched Return of the Joker, which was very good, and some episodes of the Flash as well. Bobby made homemade buffalo burgers for dinner, which were most awesome. Unfortunately the curse of the burger continues though. Ever since I got pregnant, whenever I eat burgers, I get sick after. This time we ate late, and I was ill the following morning. On the bright side, it passes quickly, and then I feel fine. The weird thing is that I can eat meatloaf, bread, cheese, and ketchup all in one sitting, and be fine, but if you stack those things on top of one another, I get sick! ARGH!!!
Monday we went over to the people we want to do our kitchen and picked out cabinets and countertop materials, as well as the colors of the bathroom countertops. We will pick out the colors for the granite kitchen countertops this week. We did a little more shopping, and went out to this great store http://www.everymotherandchild.com, where we looked at slings for baby and I picked up 2 nursing/maternity/transition bras, happy to have found a place that supplies that type of thing with a helpful and friendly staff. They also sell used maternity clothes at awesome prices although I didn’t buy any while I was there.
Other than that, Bobby and I both got some time together, and some time to make cookies and time to play video games, and time to read. It was very relaxing.
Bobby had a doctors appt for his blood pressure, and the doctor told him to get a home monitor so he could track it for a while (somewhere between 1-4 months, I don’t remember) and see what happens. Doctor wasn’t too concerned overall. I’ve been saying from the start that Bobby is healthy, the correct weight, works out, and eats right, so the stress from his work must be causing the blood pressure.
On Thursday he went to the doctor and had his high blood pressure. On Friday, it dropped a little, and this trend has continued. I have a feeling when he goes back to work tomorrow, his blood pressure will sky rocket again…. sigh.
Today I am back at work… the three day weekend was nice, and I am looking forward to end of May for another one. I have less than 3 months until I start my maternity leave!


Inside Jen this week
*****
Bring on the bulk! Baby gains about 6 ounces this week. The weight is in muscle, bone mass and organs.
His body begins to fill out with his appearance increasingly becoming more like a newborn.
Taste buds begin to form. If mom drinks something strange or bitter, baby may be observed showing his distaste.
Little creases have appeared on his palms. The muscular coordination of his hands has improved as he sucks his thumb.
Over the next seven days the sweat glands will be forming in the skin.
His lungs are developing “branches” of the respiratory “tree” and cells that produce surfactant, a substance that helps the air sacs inflate easily.
This week your baby is officially considered viable.
Baby weighs 1.3 pound (600gm) and is 11.8 inches (30cm) long — almost the length of a ruler!
How your baby’s growing: Your baby’s growing steadily, gaining about a quarter of a pound since last week, when he was just over a pound. Since he’s almost a foot long, that makes a pretty lean figure, but his body is filling out proportionally and he’ll soon put on more baby fat. Your baby’s skin is thin, translucent, and wrinkled, his brain is growing rapidly, and his taste buds are developing. His lungs are developing “branches” of the respiratory “tree” and cells that produce surfactant, a substance that helps the air sacs inflate easily.
*****
His movements still aren’t regular, but the doctor and the books seem to think that doesn’t happen till around 28 weeks.
I had my first incident of my belly being unwieldy, when I opened the fridge and bumped my baby belly. I feel huge all of the sudden, even though I know I still have a long way to go before I am huge, yet I already find myself uncomfortable with my bulk. The belly gets in the way, makes sleep difficult, and so on and so forth. 16 more weeks of this, and it will only get worse!

Leave a Reply

